Highlights are a great way to extract important snippets from you session, in order to use in a summary or send to any stakeholders (designers, developers, others).

Lookback supports creating Highlights during a LiveShare session and while replaying the session too.

Create a highlight during a LiveShare session

  1. Add a Note

  2. Click the click the 🔆 sun icon to convert the Note into a Highlight. This will create a 1 minute highlight using the timestamp of the Note as the in-point.

🚀 Pro Tip! Just click the ellipsis to edit the or timestamps of your Highlight

and fine-tune length and location of the Highlight.

Create a highlight while reviewing a session

There are several ways to create highlights in the re-player. You turn a note into a highlight directly from the session feed by selecting the note and clicking the sun symbol.

Or you can:

  1. Click the 'Highlight icon'💡 beside the timeline or tap "t" on your keyboard, while playing the session in the re-player - to mark the beginning of a snippet.

  2. And then click the 'Highlight icon' or tap "t" on your keyboard again to mark the end of a Highlight / snippet

  3. Give your Highlight a name and click 'Save'.

🚀 Pro Tip! Drag either end of the Highlight to change the length of the highlight

Publish Highlights on your Dashboard

Created Highlights don't automatically appear in the Rounds view when created. This is a deliberate attempt to not clutter the Rounds view unnecessarily.

So you'll need to publish highlights on your dashboard first, in order to export the highlight as a video file or create a Highlight Reel.

Here's how to make a created Highlight appear on your Dashboard.

  1. Click the session that holds a highlight that you want to add to your Highlight Reel.

  2. Find the highlight in the Session Feed (to the right in the Player view)

  3. Click the ellipsis icon (three dots) in that highlight and select 'Show on Dashboard'. Highlights will now appear at the top of the Rounds view, ready to be moved into a Highlight Reel.


Remember: Don't delete the Original Session!

The Highlight/snippet just points to a part of the original recording. So if you delete the original session the Highlight would get deleted too. 



Related:

Did this answer your question?