The various roles in Lookback

Overview of the different members that are part of a Lookback Organisation

Russ Troester avatar
Written by Russ Troester
Updated this week

In order to login to Lookback and access the platform, a person must have a user account and be invited to join your Lookback organisation.
​
With our Team and Insights Hub plans, every person you add to your organisation will automatically be given a collaborator license including the owner. For our Freelance plans, there is only 1 user account: the owner.
​
Our Enterprise and legacy plans (Starter and Pro) include a limited number of collaborator seats you can assign to team members. These plans also have a special, limited Observer role. There is no limit to how many observers you can invite to your organisation on these plans.
​
You can learn more about all of these roles below.


Collaborators

Available on the following plans:

  • Starter (Legacy)

  • Pro (Legacy)

  • Team

  • Insights Hub

  • Enterprise

Collaborators are members of your team who have access to all of the features in your Lookback Organisation. The Collaborator role can be assigned based on the number of Collaborator Licenses that are available.

πŸš€ With our legacy (Starter & Pro) & Enterprise plans, you have a limited number of collaborator licenses you can assign, depending on your contract. For Enterprise plans, you can always add additional licenses if needed.
​
​For our current session-based, team plans - Team & Insights Hub - you have unlimited Collaborator licenses you can assign.

Collaborators can:

  • Set up Projects and moderate Remote LiveShare sessions or Interview sessions

  • Edit snippets

  • Watch previously recorded sessions.

  • Download sessions, highlights and notes (on available plans)

  • Change privacy settings of projects and sessions (on available plans)

  • Add notes and chat to ongoing Remote LiveShare sessions or Interview sessions as well as to previously recorded sessions.

  • Add and remove organisation members

  • Change members' roles (between Collaborator and Observer) as long as the number of paid Collaborator Licenses isn't exceeded.


Observers

Available on the following plans:

  • Starter (Legacy)

  • Pro (Legacy)

  • Enterprise

Observers are members of your team who have the ability to observe research sessions, take time-stamped notes and chat amongst themselves and the person moderating the session. You can add as many observers to your Lookback organisation as you want on Starter (legacy plan), Pro (legacy plan) and Enterprise.
​

An Observer can:

  • observe Remote LiveShare sessions or Interview sessions

  • Watch previously recorded sessions.

  • Add notes and chat to ongoing sessions (Remote LiveShare or Interview) as well as to previously recorded sessions

However, Observers cannot create or edit projects, see the "All Participants" list, moderate sessions, download sessions, export session feeds, transcribe sessions, or edit sessions.

πŸš€ On the Teams and Insights Hub plans, there is currently no specific role for Observers. If you need to invite someone to observe a session but don't want to give them access to your Lookback organization, you can invite them using the Observer Lobby or a Public Link.


Owner

Available on the following plans:

  • All plans

Every organisation has one Owner – they can do everything Collaborators can do and they can additionally:

πŸš€ Collaborators and Observers’ roles can be managed from the Members Page of your organisation. Navigate to the Members Page by clicking on the account dropdown at the top of your dashboard and selecting Members.


Related:

Did this answer your question?