Preview Links can be accessed in the Round Editor:
They act just like normal links but will not affect your plan limit and will have some special limitations.
These links are a great way to fully test the participant experience before sending a standard link. The sessions use the same flow and have the same device and network requirements as Standard Sessions.
Preview Sessions are listed neatly under a toggle in each Round and are available to watch with some limitations:
Limited to 1 minute of playback
Transcriptions of session are not available
Highlight creation is not available
Converting a Preview Session to a Standard Session
There may be some cases where you want to unlock the full capabilities of a preview session and we've made that possible.
For any team members with a Collaborator license, Preview Sessions will have a "Convert to Standard Session" option inside that session's Player when you click on the Preview button
Converting a Preview Session to a Standard Session will have the following effects:
Playback will be fully available
Transcriptions of session are available
Highlights can be created and shared
The session will be listed normally inside your Round
The session will count towards your Plan Limit
Tips for testing your flow with a Preview Link
For moderated rounds (Interview and LiveShare), we'd recommend working with a colleague to test out your flow so one person can act as the moderator and one person can act as the participant.
However, it's certainly possible to play both roles if you're a sole researcher or can't find anyone else to help. It's best to use separate devices to help keep things straight, but you could also use an Incognito window in Chrome for the Participant's screen.
The process for testing a round:
Send the preview link to your participant (or to the device/window you'll be using as the participant device).
On the participant device, open the Preview Link. If you're doing a LiveShare, SelfTest, or Tasks round, on mobile, you'll be prompted to install our Participate app.
Follow the setup instructions on the participant device. (Please see this collection of help articles for instructions on the participant flow)
When the participant device has finished setup, you'll end up on a screen that says something to the effect of "we're just waiting for the other party to join." If you are doing an unmoderated test (SelfTest or Tasks, you'll just start the session at this point).
From the moderator device, you should be logged in to Lookback in Chrome or Microsoft Edge (these are currently the only 2 browsers supported for moderating). This collection of help articles will assist you on the moderator's side.
You'll see the session for participant device pop up in both the project and in the Live tab (lightning bolt) on the left
Click on the Join button
Enable your camera (option) and if you're acting as both moderator and participant with the devices in the same room, make sure to set microphone to "Microphone off." This is done to help avoid any echo; the Moderator microphone can be enabled if you are working with someone else who's in a different location.
Now the moderator will "call" the participant device
Answer the call on the participant device & now the Preview Session will start!