With Public links you can now easily invite externals to collaborate on an on-session basis, without having to add them to your Lookback organisation.

Making research smooth and flexible is obviously a standing mission of Lookback's. Once you've captured that important user experience, sharing those insights is equally important to create a movement towards improvement. The circle you collaborate with on your research often stretches outside your research team or company – you may want input from clients, consultants, experts or other externals.

In August 2020 we took an important step to make cross-team-collaboration easier, by granting full capabilities to all team members on self-serve plans, so that any team member can either moderate or observe a session. But adding externals to your Lookback organisation can also create some privacy and security challenges. If you, for example, want to someone to be able to take part to particular sessions, but without having access to other data, Public links work around that problem by inviting externals on an on-session basis, without additional access.

So please dive into this great product, and as always, if you have suggestions about possible improvements or added functionality, we're always curious to hear your ideas.


On what subscription plans is Public links available?

  • Team

  • Insights Hub

  • Trial (our 2 week evaluation offer).

Any team member in a Lookback organization on one of the above subscription plans can create a Public link to any session in that org. If you're the receiver of such a link you can access the session both when it's taking place and retroactively after it's completed.

I'm a Lookback subscriber – how do I create a public link?

  1. If Public links are enabled for your organisation, any team member can create a public link for a session via the Share menu in the Player. Once created, the link can be shared with whomever you want.

  2. The owner of a Lookback organization can toggle the Public links functionality on or off in Organizations settings, but they are enabled by default on Team and Insights Hub.

  3. All Public links will stop working if Public links are disabled in Organizations settings, and similarly they will start working again if you re-enable Public links.

  4. All Public links that have been created will be listed

I'm a guest with a public link – how does it work?

  1. Click the Public link ➡️ you'll see a login screen.

  2. You are faced with two options:

    1. authenticate yourself using your Lookback account (if you have one)

    2. authenticate yourself via Google.

  3. Once logged in you will have access to a limited version of the Player where they can take part in research in that particular session only.

As a guest accessing a session with a Public link you will be able to:

  • take notes in that session, during and afterwards

  • chat with anyone that takes part in that session

  • create highlights in that session

  • edit your own content

As a guest accessing a session with a Public link you will not be able to:

  • export/download any session information

  • modify anyone else's content

  • publish a highlight to the Dashboard (='Show on dashboard')

  • see information about the participant

  • access any other data in the Lookback organization

About URL:s for Public links / session recordings

✏️ Note that the suffixes (=the alphanumerical id at the end) for these two URL:s don't match, even though they are associated to the same recording. In other words, a session URL ending /public/xyz is a public link, but the xyz is NOT equivalent to the recording id.

Edge case sign-in scenarios using a Public link

1. Google user

Just go straight in!

2. Google with overlap

If you’re already a Lookback user, i.e. if you have a Lookback user account e-mail, and you’re trying to access the Public link using a Google account for the same e-mail, that will not be allowed. You’ll see an error message, and instead be prompted to log in as a Lookback user instead.

3. Lookback user without access

A Lookback user who doesn’t have direct access to the recording, in other words, they user is from a different org, or is trying to access a public link to a private project that they are not invited/added to.

4. Lookback user with access

If a user who has direct access to a recording by being a team member of that org, but tries to access a recording using a Public link, that user will instead be redirected to the corresponding “full access” (/play) url


📌 SAML users cannot use Public links!

Did this answer your question?